Nordstrom anniversary brush set

nat9891

Does anyone know what specific brushes will be in the mac anniversary brush set available at Nordstrom? I'm new to mac and I was thinking this might be a good brush start-out kit. Am I better off buying the basic mac brushes separately?

FireLily0

The 2 sets of brushes are:

239, 219, 266, 316, and 129
190, 212, 252, 194, and 168

Although these are shorter handle brushes, the one set that I prepurchased was $47 (the first set) when I normally would have spent at least $117.50 on these 5 brushes. The 2nd set would be around $131.5 if you paid for them separately. Based on price alone, it would be better to spend $100 on 10 brushes than the $250.

OnaFyre

You know, honestly I think its better to buy the actual brushes. I bought both brush sets last year because I travel for work and I thought those would be easier to transport. But I found that (some of) the smaller brushes were of a lesser quality. The 239 and the 266 in particular didn't work as well as the standard size brushes. And some of my very favorite brushes weren't in the set so I would end up shleping them along with me anyway. I ended up buying a brush clutch and that's a better way for me to carry all of my brushes and some other items. The packaging for last years sets was cute but didn't have a lot of room to put actual makeup in. I think some people prefer the short handles though. And lets not forget the price difference. I guess it depends on what you're looking for what what your prefrences are.

nat9891

Thanks for the info! I definitely have to take price into consideration so I think I'm leaning towards buying the sets b/c it saves so much $$ like you said.

MissMisah

Quote:
Originally Posted by OnaFyre