Online Makeup School?

*Star Violet*

Hi, I'm a self taught MA with some experience and I wanted to get certified but due to health reasons, I am unable to go to a full time school. There are a few online schools (like Stratford) that offer Makeup/ Esthetics courses. I am pretty good with makeup and would eventually like to do freelance work but do not plan to work for a company or retailer. I have been told that having a certificate would look good on my resume and would help me get clients aswell...but I was wondering if an online school would be a good idea or not?

stacylynne

You can check out tut's on youtube then practice... practice... practice
You also have to check out the laws in your state/location

*Star Violet*

And how do I go about doing that? Is there a website...I'm in Toronto so if anyone knows....I only want to do mostly bridal and part makeup and Esthetics. Not high fashion events etc...

mistella

Why do you want to be "certified"? Trust me, a certificate on your resume means nothing to potential clients & the makeup industry. The only reason why I could ever see a reason for one is if your state/country requires a license to do makeup. for Esthetics you do need a license. People don't generally care if you went to school, they want to see if you have *experience*. So definitely build up a portfolio, get some good pictures and practice whenever you can.

TIERAsta

i have to disagree just a bit. while your portfolio can definitely make or break a job (freelance clients or in the industry), "certification" does count for something.

i am a self-taught MUA myself, and because i don't have an esthetics license (which is not required to do MU in Hawaii), some clients have asked, "well, if you didn't go to cosmetology/esthetician school, how do you know what you're doing?"

i can show them my portfolio and tell them that i practice, practice, practice, but some clients just like to see that piece of paper.