Protecting yourself against counterfeits

marusia

Hi ladies (and gentlemen).
winkiss.gif

I'm writing this guide for all the people I constantly see in this thread asking about what they can do. Let me first start off by saying I'm a business owner myself, and have had to deal with this on some large scale purchases. (Anywhere to $750-$2000).

My first secret for you guys is off a list I've gotten from the ONLY supplier I will ever buy MAC from. She told me not to post this list because it could cause a frenzy, but I'm going to try and explain it the best I can. Just because you own one of these colors does NOT mean it's necessarily fake. In my experience, however, if the website/seller has almost nothing but these colors for lipglass...stay away:

BARE FETISH
C-THRU
ENCHANTRESS
EXPLICIT
FLORABUNDANCE
MAGNITIQUE
NYMPHETTE
PAS-DE-DEUX
PINK LEMONADE
RED RUSSIAN
STEAL MY HEART

Those are the most commonly counterfeited, and they seem to come in groups.

No, MAC doesn't wholesale per se. However, CCO's liquidate limited edition overstock. The only other way products are sold outside retail stores are if they are "blemished". (Very small defects-MAC is VERY picky about their standards, and only sell the top of the line). The likelihood of a seller having all of those lipglasses (without being a MACpro reseller or employee), is >1%.
th_wink3.gif

Also, whenever buying from a website, check out their domain at WHOIS.com. If they aren't cooperating with them, it's a HUGE red flag. It means that they are trying to hide their information from being able to be found from law enforcement. I personally use a proxy to protect my family since my business is run out of my home, but even then, all the cops would have to do is call my proxy provider. For an example of what that looks like, feel free to type my domain into whois.com (deliamay.com).