Q for tanorexics...

Amber*Christine

I'm new to tanning, (at a salon), and I was wondering if someone could tell me the differences between a tingle cream, an accelerator and a bronzer. I'd like to use them properly so I'm not wasting time and just sucking up UV rays and accumulating skin damage w/o getting the max color I could be getting...does that make sense??
cutey.gif
Plus, is it a good idea to rub on a thick moustrizer BEFORE tanning aswell as after? And isn't it better to go every other day than everyday, I heard some girl say before, to go everyday to build up a base, but I've also heard someone say theres no point in going everyday cause you won't get tanner you'll just dry out your skin...any advice?
Thank you!
kissy.gif

pumpkincat210

There is no SPF in tanning lotions, so not matter which one you choose you won't be protected from the uv rays. It doesn't really matter if you start with a small amount of time and work up.
I am 28 years old and I tanned alot when I was younger. The skin around my eyes is already starting to wrinkle and my forehead too.
Tanning salons mislead you by saying its a great way to get vitamin d, but in reality you really only need a small amount.
Go for the self tanner or spray on tans. I regret going now that i'm older. It may look nice, but in the long run it hurts more than it helps.

NatalieMT

Basically a tingle cream stimulates blood flow to the skin, which can help speed up the tanning process, there is a factor of how much tingle you will get from one of these creams so start low if you're going to. All I can say is you really might not like the sensation, it could be described as hot and itchy.

Accelerators have products in them which assist the body's production of melanin before and after UV exposure.

Bronzers are pretty much what they sound like, they kick start the tanning process with a little DHA for immediate colour.