Question about Mac palettes?

vintagegold14

I am just starting to collect Mac eyeshadows and I think it would be easier to keep them in palettes instead of individual pots. my questions are it:

-is it better to buy palette refills instead of actual eyeshadow pots?

-how do you know which eyeshadow is which when you have a palette?

thanks, obviously i'm a little new to all this so any tips, advice, or feedback would be greatly appreciated.

chynegal

thre refills are cheaper to buy then the single eyeshadow buy it self....the refills are about $11 compared to the $14.50 for the single...as for knowing which one is which after awhile you get to know the names of them... i have a palette now and i think i know only 2 of the names of the eyshadows in that palette cuz those are the ones i use the most

Ebbychina

Hi there,

If you have intentions on keeping a palette, then in my opinion, it is better to buy the refill pans (its cheaper and you don't have to go through the hassle of depotting). I don't really like to depot, but if there is a collection, then I am forced to, however, the upside of doing so is if you have 6 of them, you can Back 2 Mac the empty cases at your local MAC store or counter and receive a free lipstick.

To tell which eyeshadow is which, you can just lift the refill pan out of the individual slots (because the palette is magnetized, it is easy to lift out). However, if you are like me and don't want to be bothered, you can buy little round stickers and place them on the inner cover of the palette so you know the different shadows.

I take a picture of my palettes and label them in photoshop and keep a printed copy on my vanity or in my traincase like this:

Enjoy your palette!!

malaviKat