question for other pro artists

maandusa

i'm a MAC freelance artist right now, and i haven't done any "outside" freelance work in quite some time... when i was working a desk job full time and freelancing for MAC, i didn't really have the time. now, i'm going to cosmetology school and freelancing for MAC, and i have more time available to do outside freelancing. since most of the work will probably be bridal, i'm rebuilding my freelance supplies.

i have a REALLY hard time limiting my selection of products, so i'm looking for your suggestions of the absolute, cannot-live-without MAC eyeshadows for bridal work. i already consider Vanilla, Shroom, Espresso, and Carbon completely necessary for life, and i like having a variety of neutrals and flattering plums for multiple skintones; that's what most bridal work consists of. but i can rationalize keeping every eyeshadow i own "just in case" (what if i am booked by an Indian bride? or someone as dark as Alek Wek? or with violet eyes?). when really... if i keep Naked Lunch, do i NEED Grain and Arena? and are Brun AND Mystery really necessary? see where i'm going with this?

so... i figure one 15 pan of light, medium, and dark neutrals, and another 15 pan, half plummy shades and half "extra" colors for the more daring brides.

keep in mind, too, that with wedding photography, super-shiny/shimmery/metallic colors don't always work... so i'm probably going to weed out a lot of my Veluxe Pearls and some of the Frosts... but i'm open to all your suggestions.

i hate that i can justify a need for so many shadows when i know i'll probably never touch half of them.
ssad.gif

NaturalSister19

I think that you may need to do more make-up on different complexions so that you have the experience to be able to execute looks on any face.

Get busy testing with photographers. Experience would answer all of your questions. We may be able to offer suggestions, but experience is priceless.