Relocation

kaneda

So, I've come to the realisation that I really do not want to be in London. This place does something horrible to my head, and I need to get out . I think I've decided that I want to move to Bristol (which is basically a city surrounded by the countryside), seems to have quite a good social side, and it does have good routes back into London if I needed to see my family.

The problems I have are:
1) I don't actually know anyone in Bristol
2) I'm in full time work at the moment (work 8.30 - 5.30 M-F) and have to book annual leave 2 weeks in advance, so I'm not sure how I would even do interviews
3) The fear of 'what if this is actually a huge mistake'

Theres nothing in London that is keeping me here: I'm single; my mum is going to spending half a year in a different country; my brother moves around a lot; my dad is now remarried; most of my good friends aren't in London so I wouldn't be leaving them behind; I like my job, but I'm not very good at holding down jobs. I'm just not happy here.

Wondering if anyone on here has relocated or knows anyone who has relocated and how they've found it? What was your process of getting yourself set up in a new city?

*Stargazer*

I picked up and moved halfway across country when I was 19 with just the stuff I could fit in my (very small) car. It was amazingly liberating. It was hard too, though. I made sure I had a job before I left and then everything else fell into place afterwards.

The hard parts were mainly the initial loneliness and fear and the having to start over again.

Good luck.

Beauty Mark

There must be a way for you to do interviews.

Most things in life are what ifs. If you feel like you'd be happier in this other place, go for it. It won't initially be easy, but it may be the best decision of your life

ashleyisawesome