Schooling, Or Self Taught?

Stephy

Hey there ladies! I'm currently looking into this line of work and I want your oppinions.

Did you go to school to further your knowledge or did you apply for jobs with your self taught knowledge?

If you went to school, what school do you reccomend or not reccomend? (Those of you who didn't can answer as well!)

I am in the lovely city of Edmonton in Alberta Canada and looking into Marvel, but would love other options. I have many MAC stores that I would just die to apply to but would like to have some sort of back ground! TIA!

amandamakeup

Personally, I believe in being self taught, I did go to make up school, but didnt really learn anything that I didnt know, other than Little "makeup Tricks"
The best thing with makeup is to keep practicing, as much as you can. it is from their you will learn from your mistakes. Get yourself all the books you possibly can, buy every fashion magazine every month, practice what you see in the pics, and from there, you will become great!
Good luck!

Stephy

I'm thinking more along the lines of what people look for when hiring a new MA. What makes a good resume as such.

user3

a good resume consist of a portfolio and that is what shows your work.

BTW I did not go to school and I work for a lady who also did not go to school. She has a very successful studio and it was all based on word of mouth through her wonderful art.
Only one member of our team went to school and she said it was a waste of her money.

ette

I was told by one of Smashbox's national artists that schools are stupid and a waste of money. He said to get your prettiest friends, put makeup on them, and take pics for your portfolio. Shop yourself around and you'll learn tricks as you go.

martygreene

A little of column A, a little of column B.