Sephora vs. Nordstrom

baddiemey

I've been working at Sephora for a year and a half and I like it, but the pay sucks. I was recently offered a job working in fragrance at Nordstrom making more money. Anyone who has worked for Nordstrom able to talk about the growth there, or commission based jobs? I have no experience and I am thoroughly confused as to where to go.

novocainedreams

I can't help as far as commission based, as my job was strictly salary, but I worked for Nordstrom customer service and back end and they are a really good company to work for, at least when I was there. I knew a lot of people from different departments and saw a lot of movement and promotions etc within the company. I can;t say for the cosmetics department solely, but as a company they promote growth and movement within the company. If you're a hard worker they recognize that.

thenightlook

if you can't make your goals, they will be extremely hard on you at nordstrom. are there personal sales goals at sephora?

mac_aiken

I can't help as far as commission based, as my job was strictly salary, but I worked for Nordstrom customer service and back end and they are a really good company to work for, at least when I was there. I knew a lot of people from different departments and saw a lot of movement and promotions etc within the company. I can;t say for the cosmetics department solely, but as a company they promote growth and movement within the company. If you're a hard worker they recognize that.
if you can't make your goals, they will be extremely hard on you at nordstrom. are there personal sales goals at sephora?