Smoking. Enough Said.

Katura

I think this is a pretty big issue in dealing with health and excercise.

I've been dancing since I was about 3 years old and regrettably last year picked up a bad habit that comes in packs of 20 and puts an unhealthy dent in your wallet and smells awful.

Luckily I didn't get too attatched to the habit and quickly walked away from it. I couldnt breathe right, it made it hard to get through class, and I have this 'thing' about smelling good all the time and obviously that wasnt working for me.

I quit cold turkey. Started chewing Trident Orangey flavored gum and had no problem at all. But I have friends who either just cant seem to quit because either they dont want to bad enough or well, I dont know I guess its harder for some people.

Anyone here smoke? Quit smoking? How'd you do it? Why?

Dreamergirl3

I smoke, and am currently in the process of quitting. Luckily, I have the support of my family and friends to help me. I really think the one who smokes REALLY must have the desire to quit..I've seen too many of my friends fail because their families want them to quit, and they don't want to.
I don't smoke that often, but I guess smoking in general is often enough. I was about up to a half pack a day before I decided I wanted to quit.
Thing is, health wasn't my main concern for quitting *SHOCK*. I've always hated the taste of cigs, the smell, the way the scent lingered on whatever hand I was holding it with. That, and all the money I was spending. Those were the reasons why I decided to quit.
I have no prejudice against anyone that smokes, because I believe it is a personal choice to start, then of course one gets addicted and can't seem to stop. But, in the end, it was too un-attractive and expensive! Addicted or not...haha
hth

d_flawless

i'm a former smoker. i dated a guy who hated it and i stopped cold turkey.