So how did you begin (for MAC artists)?

semtexgirl

I know many of you have probably answered this question about a million times already but how did you get started? Did you take classes? Have any professional designations? I have NO experience in this industry. I work in the insurance industry right now and hate it. I've been doing it for 7 years and I look back now and see every day I spent doing insurance as a wasted opportunity. I'm ready for a change. I've loved makeup since the first time I wore it when I was 12. I'm 29 now. I think my current makeup regimen enhances my natural features but I'd really love to learn how you gals (and guys) do your makeup (most importantly - the eyes). It's edgy and gorgeous but always looks like it was done by a pro! Even the pics on this site of applications are AMAZING! Maybe it's a talent you're born with? Either way, I'd love to learn and apply for a job at MAC. Reasons why I love MAC:
products are cutting edge
no animal testing
products truly are Makeup Art Cosmetics
AIDS Fund
an overall vision to be different from other cosmetics companies
support artists' creativity

Any suggestions would really be appreciated! Thank you so much!

giz2000

I made a huge career change when I left my previous job to work for MAC. I decided that I was burnt out and applied for a position in the cosmetics department of a Nordstrom that was opening in my area. I interviewed with MAC, Philosophy and Stila. I had no makeup experience (save for what I knew about MAC and that I have loved makeup all my life). I also had never worked a retail job in my life. It's interesting that you mentioned doing your makeup to enhance your features. That's exactly what I did/still do. I used to joke around that I was MAC by way of Bobbi Brown. I was older than your average MAC MA as well (I was 37), but that didn't seem to phase them at all.