Tips for Makeup Application on Other People!

Feminist.

okay, so i have literally looked EVERYWHERE on the internet (including doing searches here) for tips on how to apply makeup on OTHER people's faces.

i just find it extremely awkward. my hand always ends up twisted around in weird positions, etc. i obviously can't use both hands if i'm right-handed (or... is this what i'm supposed to do?! :S )

thankyou in advance to anyone who helps me!
and sorry in advance if my wording is horrible in asking this question... and if i put this thread in the wrong place!

Beauty Mark

I usually steady my left side of my body by placing my hand on their shoulder or a table or something, unless it's needed for something else. I find it distracting not have both hands engaged in something. I'm not a pro, but I've done make up on other people.

-Use clean brushes
-Go slowly. I'm used to applying makeup to my face and can do that quickly. However, I don't know my friends' faces as well, so I tend to do it slowly.
-Tell people what to do, like close their eyes and don't open them until you say so. This is important with stuff like eyeshadow, but I find it less nerve-wracking in general
-I tend to think of applying makeup to someone else's face like writing or drawing on a piece of paper. Perhaps tape a piece of paper on a wall and try practicing like that?

Feminist.

thank you so much for replying!
and that taping a piece of paper to the wall is SUCH a good idea! TY
greengrin.gif

edit: so, if you use the left side of your body... you're left-handed?

glam8babe

theres lots of videos on youtube showing people applying makeup on others (aboywearingmakeup, enkore, askmemakeup etc)

Beauty Mark

Quote:
Originally Posted by Feminist.
thank you so much for replying!
and that taping a piece of paper to the wall is SUCH a good idea! TY
greengrin.gif

edit: so, if you use the left side of your body... you're left-handed?