very nervous about college- tips please!

Shavwi

I'm moving into my dorm on Thursday(It's my third year in college, but until now I've been living at home going to a community college) and I am freaking out. I've never lived away from home before and am starting to freak out. I will only be about 45 minutes away from home but I am still incredibly nervous! Any tips on conquering that? Thanks so much for anyone who can help me!

Wattage

Just relax. Trust me. You are going to meet so many people - honestly, you are going to have the time of your life.

Very exciting!!
greengrin.gif

Katura

It's amazing, I'm in the reverse situation almost...Last year was my first year and I moved into the Towson dorms, had a blast. Now I'm a sophomore, my parents are making me pay for school completely...so I had to move back home, go to the comm. college here...

I'm going to miss living away from home, I'm so independant, I enjoyed life away from home.

Hope you have fun moving in tomorrow! That's one of the best parts!
Do you know your roomie?

joraye

Definately get involved and speak up in class. Talk to people who sit next to you. I found when I moved to college, being quiet and shy did nothing for me. When I just said hello, made random conversation, etc, I ended up making some of the greatest study buddies/friends ever.

I don't know how large your college is, but on the sorority thing, you either love em or hate em, or you're like me and totally on the fence. (that made NO sense.)

Anyways, I joined a sorority, loved the girls, but didn't see the point in spending money for parties, t-shirts, and general fellowship I could get for free with my old friends and people I meet in class. i am still friends with some of the girls, and if moneys not an issue, they can sometimes be like a family away from home and def. help with loneliness and any boredom (which is rarely a problem....)