Where to start?

BrawnShuga

Hey there!! I'm new to the forum, but I've been reading up on a bunch of ya'lls threads, hopefully, someone out there who has experience with this all could help me out with my dilemma! Ok, so I would love to start out in the Cosmetic Counter Retail business but I have no experience in that field professionally. I have a Bach. degree in Fine Arts, im a freelance photography, and I used to work as kindergarten class teacher before I moved to Jacksonville, FL, however I have a passion for makeup...long story short, where do I start? Do you pop up at Dillards/JC Pennys/Sephora and ask to apply at the counters? Or do I wait until a vacancy is open? I'm so sorry if my thread is too long, help out a lost gal!! Thanks in advance, any advice would def. be appreciated...
smiles.gif

I can't wait to see what people reply either, I think it is a great question and I'm curious to find out too! If I'm not mistaken, I don't think you even need any experience working at some counters. I know you need experience to work for MAC though and you have to kind of have an audition.

allthatgl1tt3rs

It simply depends on who you work for. As hotpinkanthia says, you do need to be qualified as a makeup artist to work for MAC. But for others e.g. Clarins and so on you won't necessarily need to have had any previous training at all in makeup and what they tend to do is train you up on their own courses (usually paid for by the company).

As with all applications, they do like to see some experience in retail, even if it's not cosmetic retail specifically, i.e. you could have been a store assistant/waitress. It's more from a customer service point of view than anything else. They find it reassuring to know that you've dealt with the public before (because let's face it guys and dolls, they can be a handfull from time to time!).